OBS Studio upgrade error | Ubuntu| Linux

OBS Studio upgrade error | Ubuntu| Linux

Purpose of this post

I wish to document this process wherein I solved the upgrade error of obs studio in Ubuntu. Since it's obvious to get errors while trying to update stuff or add some packages or plugins. Also, it's a nice motivation to write. So I can have a look at what approach worked in the past.

Now I am planning to do similarly with my projects. I feel it's nice to document and know about the process involved.

Error Statement

Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable distribution that some required packages have not yet been created or been moved out of Incoming. The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:

obs-studio : Conflicts: libobs0 but 25.0.3+dfsg1-2

is to be installed

Conflicts: obs-plugins but 25.0.3+dfsg1-2 is to be installed

E: Broken packages

Action

Step 1

I am first of all reading this error message. From the above error statement, it seems we have some conflicts with packages and unmet dependencies and we also have some broken packages.

Step 2

To be really honest, I have no idea about these packages and their dependencies. So I am searching for them online.

Step 3

I got an answer here

It says

sudo apt install -f to install the missing dependencies and then run again

sudo apt install obs-studio

This did in fact work. I didn't expect it to solve my issue in one go.